The Bermuda Bicycle Association kicked off its 2014 road racing season with a 20-mile team time trial in St. David’s.

A total of 24 teams of four riders rose to the challenge on a blustery course.

Starting by Clearwater Beach and heading out to St. David’s Road then out and back to the roundabout at Swizzle Inn, the competition demanded two laps of the 10-mile circuit with each team’s finish time being taken on the completion of the third rider, requiring each group to work together and share the hard work at the front.

Taking top honours was the Madison Digicel team of Dominique Mayho, Brian Drea, Neil Lupsic and Adam Harbutt in a time of 50 minutes 44 seconds, a full one minute 30 seconds ahead of the second place Winners Edge team of Mark Hatherley, Justin Ferreira, Kent Richardson and Jermaine Postlewaite.

Third place went to the Fast Forward Bicycle Works team of Brian Steinhoff, Chequan Richardson, Grant Goudge and Arthur Pitcher in 54:41.

With seven teams of women aiming for the title it was Madison Digicel again that took top spot, followed by Winners Edge and Fast Forward Bicycle Works.

April Galda, Sarah Bonnett, Martina Olcheski and Kristen Palmer powered to a one hour two minutes finish, one minute ahead of the Winners Edge ladies Julia Hawley, Gabriella Arnold, Penelope Butterfield and Deanna Didyk. Next in were the Fast Forward Bicycle Works team of Laura Norman, Belinda Castree, Wenda Roberts and Zoe Roberts.

The BBA Racing Committee has recently published the 2014 race calendar, which will keep the local racing scene very busy for the next seven months.

The next race is a criterium organized by Fast Forward Bicycle Works in Hamilton on March 30. 

Before the road season gets in full swing, the off-road racing season has one more series event on March 9 at Lagoon Park, and then the Winners Edge MTB Championships at Ferry Reach on March 16 and a four hour endurance race on the 23rd, also at Ferry Reach.

More information on the BBA’s 2014 season can be found at or on the BBA’s Facebook page.