Alec Cutler
Alec Cutler

Royal Hamilton Amateur Dinghy Club’s Frostbite Series has drawn to a close with Peter Dill, Steve O’Reilly and Rockal Evans the major winners.

In a 38-race competition, with no racing in the final weekend, Dill claimed overall victory in the 420 Class on a nett 45 points. Mikey Wollmann finished in second on nett 54, while James Amaral was third on 86.

In the Laser Radial,  O’Reilly was the only sailor on the water in the final round of races, allowing him to cement his overall class win in the 43-race series with a nett 38 points. Behind him was Anthony Buckley in second on 98 and Ben Smith in third on 135.

Finally, in the Laser Standard Class, Evans was not in action in the final races but his lead was enough for him to wrap up the series win on 44 nett points. Malcolm Smith finished in second in 73, while Thomas Conyers came in third on 73.


Alec Cutler and his Hedgehog crew relinquished their title at the Miami Melges 32 Winter Regatta in Florida at the weekend.

The three-day event was won by Roberto Tomasini Grinover and his crew on board Robertissima. Cutler had a second and two thirds in the eight-race regatta but a host of poor finishes — an eighth, a ninth, a 10th and an 11th among them — ultimately cost the crew any chance of competing. n